My experience with Embeetle so far

Hi all!

I recently started using Embeetle after having difficulties with using a custom library with the Arduino IDE. Perhaps I’ll first situate myself somewhat, so that you have at least some idea from which perspective I’m writing. I’ve currently just finished my engineering studies at KU Leuven and I am doing a personal embedded project. While I learned about many engineering subjects, I did not have much classes about implementation of embedded projects. In short, I’m basically a novice when it comes to embedded development.

My project is not very large (a few thousand lines of own code). Most of my own code concerns control algorithms and is therefore platform independent. My interest lies mostly in the control theory parts and less in implementing it in software and hardware. Nevertheless, in a real-life product the latter step is always necessary, so I’m trying to get some experience with it.

I’ll provide a few comments of my experience with Embeetle so far. I hope these might be useful in the development, and perhaps serve as a motivation to continue developing this nice piece of software.

I started using it last Saturday after having issues with trying to use functionality from my library. I used the Arduino IDE which appears rather restrictive when it comes to library structures. I developed my library separately (I compile it for testing on my PC, with corresponding CMakeLists etc.) and using it with the Arduino IDE appeared close to impossible unless I restructured it completely. Last week, Bert told me “try the beetle”. So I thought, why not?

Well, 30 minutes after clicking “download” I was running code from the library on my Uno. Fantastic!

General thoughts

• Fast
  • Excellent tiling system
  • Good file usage (I use a second editor with files open in both and have no conflicts)
  • Clean interface